An independent show guide not a venue or show. All tickets 100% guaranteed, some are resale, prices may be above face value. We're an independent show guide not a venue or show. We sell primary, discount and resale tickets, all 100% guaranteed prices may be above face value. We are an independent show guide not a venue or show. We sell primary, discount and resale tickets, all 100% guaranteed and they may be priced above or below face value.

Sorry! You missed Waterfall at 5th Avenue Theatre

Unfortunately, we don't have any information about upcoming performances of this show. Maybe we can interest you with something similar from the options below...

location

1308 5th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101

Waterfall Poster

Waterfall

Closed October 25, 2015

A new epic musical set on the brink of WWII

Why See Waterfall?

Love in a time of War

An epic wartime romance, much in the tradition of Miss Siagon, Waterfall is a brand new musical for 2015. Revolving around a forbidden love between a Thai student and an American woman in 1930s Bangkok, the show will play Seattle's 5th Avenue Theatre this October, before heading off to the bright lights of Broadway next year.

Based on the novel Behind the Painting by celebrated Thai author Siburapha, the musical has a creative team of considerable pedigree behind it. The book and lyrics come courtesy of Richard Maltby Jr., who won a Tony for the 1978 musical Ain't Misbehavin', while the score is written by Academy Award winner David Shire. The pair previously worked together on the Broadway musicals Big and Baby. A groundbreaking collaboration between American and Asian theatrical artists, the show will be directed by Tak Viravan.

Waterfall will debut at the Pasadena Playhouse in May, before coming to Seattle. It will then transfer to Broadway in 2016.

What is Waterfall About?

Set in 1930s Bangkok and Japan, the story of Waterfall plays out as the impending spectre of World War II looms ever closer. It follows the passionate love affair between a Thai student and the American wife of a Thai diplomat, whose relationship puts them both in mortal danger.

show content hide content

Additional Information

Dates

Opening night: 1 October 2015

Cast and Creative

Cast

Sukrit Wisetkaew

Creative

Book & Lyrics by Richard Maltby Jr.
Music by David Shire
Directed by Tak Viravan
Choreographed by Dan Knechtges

What you thought

Seen Waterfall? Loved it? Hated it?

Help your fellow Seattle Theater visitors by leaving the first review!

Write a review now

Nearby

Venue home

Venue home

location

Location

restaurantsDiningRestaurants
parking

Parking

hotels

Hotels

Additional Information

seating chart
SeatingSeating map

Spread the word

Sound good to you? Share this page on social media and let your friends know about Waterfall at 5th Avenue Theatre.

Keep up to date

I want email news and updates for events in my area! Read how we protect your data.

Please note: The term 5th Avenue Theatre and/or Waterfall as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other trademarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the 5th Avenue Theatre and/or Waterfall and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the 5th Avenue Theatre and/or Waterfall and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.